AiStaffo

OpenAI caps paid ChatGPT subscriptions per card and per device

Stock photo: laptop desk payment card
Photo: Leeloo The First / Pexels

OpenAI now caps how many paid ChatGPT subscriptions can be tied to one payment card or one device. The caps cover ChatGPT Go, Plus, Pro 100, Pro 200 and Pro 500. Free, Business, Enterprise and Edu plans are excluded. If a sign-in shows "Device limit reached", that paid account cannot be used on that device, and logging out does not free a slot. If checkout refuses a purchase, the card or device has too many subscriptions linked to it. OpenAI has not published the numbers. Buying credits or resetting usage does not clear either restriction. Businesses that run work through personal paid seats on shared cards or machines should move that work to a workspace plan before it stops.

In short

  • OpenAI limits how many paid ChatGPT accounts can be tied to one card or one device, covering Go, Plus, Pro 100, Pro 200 and Pro 500.
  • Logging out does not free a slot, and buying credits or resetting usage does not clear the restriction.
  • OpenAI has not published the actual card or device numbers.
  • Business, Enterprise and Edu workspace plans are excluded from the device limit.
  • A shared ChatGPT and Codex usage allowance is planned for December, separate from the device rule.

What happened

OpenAI has started limiting how many paid ChatGPT accounts can be linked to one payment card or one device. According to OpenAI's Help Center article titled Understanding card and device limits in ChatGPT, the device rule applies to ChatGPT Go, Plus, Pro 100, Pro 200 and Pro 500. ChatGPT Free and the Business, Enterprise and Edu workspace plans do not count toward the limit. The Decoder reported the change on 1 November 2026, and the help article was described as updated in late October 2026 by Xeno Spectrum.

The rule works at two points. At checkout, a purchase can be blocked with the message that there are too many subscriptions associated with the card or device. At sign-in, the message reads "Device limit reached", and the paid account cannot be used on that device. According to The Decoder, logging out does not automatically free a spot for another account. The help article also says that buying credits or resetting usage will not clear a card or device restriction.

OpenAI has not published the numbers. The help article does not state how many subscriptions one card can support or how many paid accounts one device can use. Xeno Spectrum notes the same gap. The help article describes the rule as part of ChatGPT's privacy and security protections.

Why it matters for businesses that automate work

Many teams automate routine work by giving several people, or several scripts, access to paid ChatGPT seats. Some of those seats are bought on a single company card. Some run on one shared office computer or one virtual machine. The new rule turns those setups into a risk. A purchase can be refused partway through a rollout, and a seat that works today can be blocked on a machine that already holds other paid accounts.

The help article also says that when several people use the same payment card, the card can reach the checkout limit even if each person uses a different device. A business that pays for seats from one corporate card should expect that.

What changes in practice, at any size

A sole trader with one personal Plus subscription on a laptop is unlikely to notice anything. The picture changes when a company does any of the following:

  • Buys several individual paid seats on one corporate card for staff who work from a shared device.
  • Switches between several paid accounts on one computer to spread usage across them.
  • Runs a workflow that signs in to a paid account on a server, a shared terminal or a rented machine.
  • Relies on personal subscriptions bought by staff and expensed later.

For work that the company needs to keep running, the help article points to a different route. Business, Enterprise and Edu workspace plans are outside the device limit. A company that needs several seats should check whether a workspace plan fits its use before buying more individual subscriptions. Where a subscription was billed through ChatGPT or Google Play, the help article says the device warning offers a cancellation and refund option. Paid access to the affected subscription ends once that cancellation succeeds, so the choice has to be made deliberately.

The rule does not stop the work itself. It limits where a paid account can sign in. A business can still use ChatGPT on Free or workspace plans, and the work can move to those accounts while the owner decides how to pay for the rest.

What to watch next

Three things are still open. The first is whether OpenAI publishes the card and device numbers. Until it does, any business planning seat counts should treat the limit as unknown. The second is the December change. Xeno Spectrum reports that OpenAI plans a shared usage allowance for ChatGPT and Codex starting in December. That change concerns how usage is metered, not how many accounts a card or device can hold. The third is how the shared allowance applies to each plan. OpenAI's pages do not yet give token amounts per plan or an exact start date, according to a separate report from Aivy.

This explains the device rule in general terms; it is not legal or tax advice for your case.

How AiStaffo would automate this

AiStaffo would start by listing every paid AI seat the business uses, the card each one is billed to and the device or service each one signs in from. That register would be connected to the purchase and sign-in records the business already keeps, so new seat requests on a card that already holds several subscriptions get flagged before checkout. Routine checks would run automatically, and a short weekly report would show which workflows depend on a personal paid account. The owner still decides which plan each team needs, approves any new purchase and agrees with staff how work moves to a workspace plan. Book a free automation audit.

Questions people ask

What does Device limit reached mean in ChatGPT?
According to OpenAI's Help Center, it means the paid account cannot be used on that device. The message appears at sign-in when too many paid accounts are tied to the device. Logging out does not free a slot for another account.
Which ChatGPT plans are affected by the card and device limits?
The device limit applies to ChatGPT Go, Plus, Pro 100, Pro 200 and Pro 500. ChatGPT Free and the Business, Enterprise and Edu workspace plans do not count toward the limit. OpenAI's help article describes these plans as the ones covered.
How many ChatGPT subscriptions can one card or device hold?
OpenAI has not published the numbers. The Help Center article does not state how many subscriptions one card can support or how many paid accounts one device can use. Businesses should treat the limit as unknown until OpenAI publishes it.
Will buying credits or resetting usage remove the block?
No. OpenAI's help article says that buying credits or resetting usage will not clear a card or device restriction. Credits pay for eligible usage after included limits are reached, which is a different purpose.
Is the device limit the same as the December shared usage allowance?
No. The December change concerns usage. OpenAI plans to share one token-based allowance across ChatGPT and Codex for Plus, Pro and Business plans starting in December, while the card and device rule concerns how many paid accounts can be linked.
What should a business check before buying more ChatGPT seats?
Check which card each seat is billed to and which device each seat signs in from. Confirm whether the work needs a workspace plan, which is outside the device limit. Keep a record of seat purchases so a refused checkout can be traced quickly.

Book a free automation audit

Thirty minutes. We look at one process you run every week and tell you exactly what an AI worker would take off your desk, and what it would not.

We use these details only to reply to this request and prepare your audit, and keep them for up to two years. We send no marketing unless you tick the box above. Privacy policy

chatgptopenaisubscriptionsdevice limitsai tools